h1

Quick review: Budget Milk

May 11, 2009

Since I started making the yoghurt at home, we’ve been using more milk. Now I have to make a shameful admission — I’ve been mindlessly ignoring the markedly cheaper “Budget” (Pak’N’Save house brand) brand milk. On Saturday I decided it was well worth a trial.

Can’t tell the difference, folks. Which is not really surprising when you think about how a dairy factory must work.

I don’t suppose we’ll be paying for the privilege of “name brand” milk again.

6 comments

  1. Gosh – thats all I’ve bought for YEARS 🙂

    On the non name brand from I have finally converted my family to Signature Range cheese. Much cheaper (not the cehapest) but they don’t complain about it. full price yesterday was 9.49 for 1kg


  2. from 2008 http://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/food-wine/448875


  3. It’s the economics of how most factories work. Occasionally you’ll get the house brand with cheaper ingredients, but this is pretty rare. Differential pricing simply allows supermarkets to compete across different market segments without losing market share – and have the customers spend on items where they can make more substantial profits.


  4. Hmmm, that rings a bell. I think you’re right!


  5. The bluetop brand that they sell at service stations on those 5 dollars for four litres deals on the other hand is awful.


    • You’re not the first person to have told me something along those lines. In fact I have a dim memory of buying some cheap off-brand milk from a garage that seemed distinctly rancid. Which is probably what put me off the Budget milk in the first place…



Leave a Reply

