h1

Giveaways!

April 18, 2009

I’m going to apologise for my hiatus by giving away some vital supplies. By way of excuse all I can say is, “I’ve been freakin’ busy”.

But! What we have is three separate (and empty) olive barrels, pictured.

We are steady eaters of marinated olives, the recipe for which is here on Object Dart, and we think everyone should enjoy them.

If you want one of these three two one barrels, then please contact either Stephen or I, and we’ll see about getting one or more to you. Wellingtonians get preference!

31 comments

  1. I’ve a couple of empty ice cream containers if you want them.


  2. Wouldn’t mind one but I am sure you’ll have many Wgtn takers.


  3. one for art (assuming wellingtonians don’t front)


  4. Happy to pay postage (although I guess thats not so frugal) I have a specific use in mind tho


  5. I have another one if suddenly you’re inundated with takers. I kept it but don’t really know what to do with it.


  6. Will swap for zucchini 🙂


  7. done. will grab your email off your comment and be in touch.

    yay the swap economy!


  8. That’s probably a sign that I should include it in my profile. It’s gmail, dearmrsskin.


  9. Are there any Otago readers here? – I have an over supply of urenika potatoes and apple jelly.

    Also anyone know the economics of keepign backyard chickens?


  10. The chap who’s on after Kim Hill did some chicken investigations, including the economics side. If the podcasts are still up you might look at the second or third installment. Can’t recall if it was on before or after Christmas, sorry.

    From memory he came out slightly ahead, but probably only enough to make it worthwhile if one enjoys keeping chooks.


  11. From memory he came out slightly ahead, but probably only enough to make it worthwhile if one enjoys keeping chooks.

    Was that with the chicken food supplemented with scraps and veges?


  12. I can’t be certain but I imagine so, partly on the grounds that you’d be mad not to, and partly because I think he might have been investigating ways of living frugally.

    On that note he also interviewed Johanna Knox about her wild-food gathering and linked to her flower fritter recipe. It’s not entirely clear on her page but she also recommended making them with onion-weed/three-cornered garlic flowers. They’re hugely snackable. http://starcooked.blogspot.com/2008/09/flower-fritters.html


  13. and isn’t the thing with chooks not necessarily the cost, but the quality of life for the birds?

    and just plain better, tastier eggs?


  14. Yeah for sure, but there’s generally a limit to how far one will go to ensure quality of life for their egg-providers, no? Most people are happy to buy free-range from the supermarket.

    Not sure about tastier – I can’t say I’ve ever noticed – but freshness makes a huge difference when you’re eating them as eggs. I.e. poached/scrambled/fried rather than in a cake or whatever. The difference in ease between poaching a fresh-laid egg and a supermarket one is quite noticeable.


  15. yup. that’s what i was getting at.

    afaik “free range” doesn’t mean the wonderful, cuddled and pampered birds some might think it does.


  16. Damn, doesn’t it? That would be annoying. I really don’t want to get to the nutter-on-a-mission level of having to investigate the farming practices of each brand.


  17. Well I am pleased it works out ahead. I also happen to love hens so its win win. I don’t think we have room rigth now though and are looking for a very small, small holding so I can have a few sheep and pigs too. Fingers crossed


  18. There was somebody at the last Knack making lovely looking chicken coops to order, I wanted to ask how much they were but it was my usual lightning quick visit while Justine had popped in home to feed the youngster. Kind of made me want to try, though. I use to help my nana’s neighbour with her chooks as a kid and it was great fun, but for the smell.


  19. Giovanni – the smell = manure for the garden 🙂


  20. Yeah, that’s the thing though: at the moment the only thing we have time to grow is weeds. So we don’t really want to boost that.

    (Ludicrously, we are subscribers to NZ Gardener magazine. I’m always secretly afraid that if the edtiros caught whiff of it they’ll come and ceremoniously strip us off it).


  21. Late to rejoin the conversation, but chickens also make wonderful pets. They’re not demanding in the way a cat or dog is, have interesting personalities, and all they really want is food, water, a covered perch and a place to scratch.

    My parents let them into the garden from time to time, where they eat insects, consume weeds and a little siverbeet, and generally enjoy themselves.

    A good coop with proper wire netting is essential though, you don’t want cats or dogs getting in.

    Giovanni, perhaps have a look at some permaculture books? There are a lot of ways to have a vegetable garden that requires almost no maintenance – a garden of the weeds you want.


  22. The problem with chickens is that going away becomes a bit harder – there are no boarding chicken coops, so you have to arrange for someone to feed them.


  23. Yes, absolutely true Stephen. The upside is that the feeders can be lured quite easily with the promise of free eggs, where no such incentive exists for other domestic animals.

    As was said upthread, it probably works out on the plus side, but only slightly, and a little more if you enjoy having them.


  24. yup. dogs and cats do not produce anything useful except poo and arse-licking (respectively).

    i’ve lived with both (who “owns” a cat, right?), and they’re mostly something to keep you company in exchange for food…


  25. Though cats & dogs do offer cuddles. Chickens – not so much. Goats now, goats are cool.


  26. i have heard people say they tried to cuddle chickens.

    not satisfactory apparently.

    but then goldfish aren’t so much fun that way either.


  27. Bantams can be quite cuddly and patting them makes their feathers shine.

    I have found a small flaw in my chicken owning plan though – we rent. Not sure how the landlord will take it. Also runs are expensive unless you make your own


  28. I seem to have stumbled upon a secret clique of chicken-strokers. Interesting…


  29. Shorn of context, Mrs Skin, that sounds like a particularly dodgy euphemism indeed.


  30. not so secret. there is no shame.


  31. I stroke and give affection to my parent’s chickens, and they enjoy it quite a lot. The chickens, that is.

    Goats are cool, but they require a bit more land than most of us have in the city. Miniature pigs, on the other hand might be do-able, anyone know about that?



Leave a Reply

